FOR THE LOVE OF FROSTING…

Anyone who knows me knows I love cake. It is my choice above cookies, or pie, or ice cream, or brownies. And as I once stated quite poetically, “I spend an inordinate amount of time thinking about frosting. It takes up a large portion of my brain!”

And lately I have been trying to figure out ways to up my frosting game with different flavors and different ingredients. As someone who is always trying to lower the amount of refined, processed sugars in both my lifestyle and my baking, trying to get rid of powdered sugar in frosting is proving difficult. Sure, I could make a meringue frosting but most recipes call for regular sugar and substituting coconut sugar has proven to be a challenge thus far. Others, when omitting the powdered sugar, utilize corn syrup, which also defeats the purpose for me.

And then I read an article about sweet potatoes. And how people were using it as a base for frosting due to its starchy and sweet nature. WHAT?!?

Now I don’t like sweet potatoes. I have never been a big fan of the sweet savort thing, and my brain always halts my mouth shouting “Whoa, that is not what a potato tastes like” whenever I attempt to eat one.

But baking with a sweet potato? This I could get behind. They are naturally sweet. Baking is usually sweet. Now all that was left to be answered was would the frosting actually have the proper consistency and what deliciousness should I try this atop?

Wanting to include some of the principles I had been learning from my friend Christine (www.paleoishperez.com ~ you should def check her out!) I decided to create a paleo-ish banana bread cake. And what goes great with banana’s, but chocolate! And this a one bowl cake and a super simple frosting, so that anyone can make this. I promise! Give it a try!

img_2532

Banana Bread Cake with Sweet Potato Chocolate Frosting

 For the Bread Cake:

makes 1 9×13 sheet cake, or two 8×8 round cakes

3 Cups Almond Flour (Or Nut Flour blend, like Pamela’s)

¾ Cup Tapioca Flour/Starch

¾ Cup Coconut Sugar

2 Tsp. Baking Soda

½ Tsp. Xanthan Gum

1 Tsp. Chinese 5 Spice

½ Tsp. Salt

¼ Cup Earth Balance, melted

2 Tbls. Lemon Juice + ½ Cup Cashew Milk (or any milk you prefer), combine

2 Tsp. Vanilla Extract

4-5 ripened Bananas, mashed

 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Grease 1 9×13 sheet pan with shortening, Earth Balance, butter, or any alternative you choose.

Mix all dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Create a hole in center of dry ingredients.

Dump the mashed bananas in the center. Do not mix.

Pour in the melted Earth Balance and the vanilla. Do not mix.

Pour the milk/lemon mixture over top.

Mix with a fork to evenly incorporate everything.

Pour into greased pan.

img_2388

Bake for 26-28 mins.

Remove from oven and cool in pan completely before frosting.

 

For the Frosting:

 2 Cups of Sweet Potatoes (about 6 potatoes depending on size), cubed and boiled in large pot until tender

img_2385

10oz. 70% dark chocolate

 

Puree the sweet potatoes in a food processor or with a potato masher

Place pureed sweet potatoes into a medium saucepan and heat on low heat.

Once heated through, add the chocolate in 1-inch pieces.

Mix until chocolate in thoroughly melted and incorporated.

Remove from heat and cool.

Frost Banana Cake and enjoy!

img_2394

 

Leave a Reply

