THIS TIME OF YEAR…

Perhaps it was Better Than Ezra who said it best…

“You can feel it in the air
Feelin’ right this time of year
Well there’s a feelin’ in the air
Just like a Friday afternoon
Yeah you can go there if you want”

There is nothing quite like that song or the beginning of Fall. They both come into my life quiet and unassuming and then BLAM…I am in love.

I love the first time you open the windows wide and that cool air rushes in, when you put your well worn favorite sweater on in the morning to enjoy your coffee and a book, and when the skies elicit a glow that is magical and welcoming with its warmth.

This time of year I want to snuggle on the couch and watch “The Goonies”, drink Ho-Cho on a brisk walk, throw a football around and dream of wide open spaces filled with trees golden, red and burnt sienna.

And ohh, what a time for baking! Apples, berries, pears, cinnamon, pumpkin, sweet potatoes, chocolate, pecans, maple syrup, and more…oh my!!

My mom used to make blueberry peach cobbler for us as kids. It was blueberry muffin mix topped with blueberries, peaches and an amazing homemade cinnamon sugar crumble. Now some may say that this is not true cobbler or scoff at using boxed mix, well I counter that all baking no matter the substance or name, is connected with a common theme: LOVE. Everything my mom made us was with love and warmth. She wanted to feed her family. She wanted to make memories. And she succeeded in both. It was such a special treat; cobbler days were always the best days.

With that delight in mind, I wanted my first fall treat to be pay homage to those special mornings. Berries, peaches, buttery cinnamon sugar goodness (which, let’s not lie about it, is basically my favorite part of this whole thing and my mom’s original!). And the chance to use my favorite tool – a pastry blender. fullsizerender-3

Now we didn’t have this when I was growing up. My mom delicately cut the butter into the flour, cinnamon and sugar using two knives. I thought it was MAGIC! Then when I was old enough, I indelicately cut the butter in using the same method. Because I am nothing if not a whirling dervish in both my kitchen and in my life! However, last year my mother bought me this pastry cutter for Christmas. And let me tell you, it has changed my life! So easy, so fun to use, and it makes the process of cutting in butter to anything life changing. Plus it is inexpensive! Which is always a bonus in my world!

So I you are a fan of fall, warmth, berries and buttery cinnamon goodness this recipe is for you!

 

PEACH BERRY CRUMBLE

Makes approx. 8 cups

4 Cups frozen/fresh mixed berries (or any berries you prefer)

1 ½ Cup Sliced Peaches (canned or fresh)

1 1/4 Cup Coconut Sugar, divided

¼ Cup Gluten Free Cornstarch

3 ½ Tsp. Cinnamon, divided

½ Cup Earth Balance (or butter or margarine)

1 Cup Gluten Free Rolled Oats (not quick cooking oats)

¾ Cup Gluten Free Flour (see previous post)

½ Tsp. Salt

½ Tsp. Vanilla Extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Grease, with butter or shortening, an 8×8 or 9×9 square baking dish or round ceramic dish:

img_2255

Like this one which is 2 ½ quarts (which I used for this dish)

In a large mixing bowl, mix to combine Berries, Peaches, ½ Cup of Coconut Sugar, Cornstarch and 1 ½ tsp. Cinnamon.fullsizerender

Pour into baking dish.

In a medium mixing bowl, cream together (with pastry cutter, 2 knives, or your hands!) Earth Balance, Oats, Flour, remaining ¾ Cup Coconut Flour, Salt, Vanilla Extract and remaining 2 tsp. Cinnamon.

Once mixture is combined, it will be somewhere between paste and just getting to that sandy consistency.

Top the berries with the Cinnamon Oat mixture, making sure to cover the entire top of the berries.

Bake for 30-45 minutes, until the filling is bubbly and the topping is lightly browned.

fullsizerender-1

Enjoy warm, with ice cream or even cold for breakfast!

img_7398

Leave a Reply

