A Delightful Popum

I will confess. Coconut is not my favorite flavor in the world. I love the idea of it much more than I ever end up loving the baked good. And strangely neither is chocolate frosting. Annnnd, I am also not a huge cupcake fan. But I wanted to challenge myself, and my taste buds, this week and make something different. I was also, strangely trying not to make anything chocolate, because I am starting to notice a trend here. But alas, that failed….which is ok by me because this recipe is quite amazing!

My original idea was a whoopie pie that tasted like an inside out coconut chocolate candy bar. But I also wanted to experiment with Almond Flour, since I had it on my baking shelf and had yet to try to use it. My brain pinged with excitement about this idea. Almond, Coconut, Chocolate….ummm probably delightful! Now I just had to figure out how to make something out of this.

Once the batter was made, I kinda noticed that it might be too delicate to be a whoopie. Now truth be told, this realization could have derailed the whole operation. But I am learning to trust my instincts more and more in this beautiful kitchen fun zone, and I just readjusted. I had some mini muffin liners an old roommate had left for me from a work photo shoot. Hmmm…..that might work. Cook the cakes a little longer in a smaller more concentrated area. What the hey! It either works or doesn’t work, right?!

After about 30 minutes (15 mins of cooking, 15 mins of waiting to cool a bit), I had to see. I bit into this little bite sized (or in my case two bite size) coconut powerhouse and what I discovered was a light cake, super coconutty-nuttiness, slightly chewy yet moist and crumbly. This cake was quite the contradiction in terms. Yet, so am I most days, so of course this is love! Once the Cacao Frosting was added, I had a satisfyingly delectable treat that was not overly sweet yet hit all the right notes in my mouth. For a “Notta Coconut, Chocolate Frosting, Cupcake” lover, these are pretty damn delightful!

Coconut Macaroon Cakes

2 ¾ Cups Almond Flour

4 Tblsp. Coconut Flour

¼ tsp. Cream of Tartar

½ tsp. Salt

2 Cups Coconut Sugar

4 Large Eggs

1 Cup Earth Balance

1 Tblsp Lemon Juice

1 Cup Almond Milk

1 ½ tsp. Vanilla Extract

½ tsp. Coconut Extract

1 ½ Cups Shredded Unsweetened Coconut

On a Large cookie sheet lined with foil, spread out the coconut in one layer.

You can add more or less coconut, depending on your taste buds!

You can add more or less coconut, depending on your taste buds!

Bake on 400 degrees for 10 minutes, until just about starting to brown but not.

Set aside to cool. Reduce oven heat to 350 degrees.

IMG_1751

In bowl, mix first four ingredients and set aside.

Separately, mix lemon juice and milk and set aside.

Cream the Earth Balance and the Coconut Sugar together in stand mixer or by hand.

Add the Eggs, one at a time, beating until just combined before adding the next one.

Add the Vanilla and Coconut Extract.

Add the milk mixture.

Slowly, add in the flour mix, being careful not to over mix.

Using a spatula, gently fold in the toasted coconut.

YUM!

YUM!

Line small mini muffin tins with liners.

Fill each to the top.

Cook for 15 minutes until cakes come out clean when toothpick is inserted.

While the cupcakes cool, make the…….

CHOCOLATE FROSTING

¾ Cup Cacao Powder

½ Cup GF Shortening

½ Cup Earth Balance

2 tsp. Vanilla

2-3 Cups of Powdered Sugar

Mix Shortening and Earth Balance together until slightly fluffy.

Add the Cacao Powder and Vanilla.

Add ½ cup Powdered Sugar to the mix until you get the sweetness and consistency you desire.

Frost the top of cooled Mini Cupcakes.

IMG_1757

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

