Here we go!

So it is a very cold March day here in NYC, again, and I have been fretting for hours albeit days about how I should do this whole recipe section.

As an actor, you try to go into every situation as prepared as possible, but also as fresh and loose and malleable.  A weird dichotomy! And that is how I have been approaching this whole new creative endeavor. Be prepared, be fresh, be on my toes, have fun!

Except, this is a very learn as I go situation.  Yes I love baking. And yes, I am quite a good gluten free baker.  But a blogger, is new to me. Sure I can write the recipes, and give you an antecdote here and there or a really great “story behind the creation of______” but the technical aspects of setting up and maintaining a blog is a steep learning curve for me.

And then today my ever supportive and sometimes irritatingly logical boyfriend, reminded me of a quote he had heard from a casting director.  He said “Start at 85%. It doesn’t have to be perfect, it has to be a well put together start.”

Ah so true again Squeezy (my loving term of endearment for him!).

So I am putting it out there today at 85%! I can fix and fumble as I go along and hopefully you will be along with me.

I hope you enjoy these recipes, discover new flavors and baking combinations, and make something that is so tasty and delicious that you only want to bake that one thing over and over again…..until the next one thing comes out of the over!

So here is my first recipe for you…..A VERY VERSATILE GLUTEN FREE FLOUR MIX.

Now if you are like me, you are wary of this mix. And I don’t blame you! When I was first starting out, I was trying recipe after recipe and never quite seeming to make my treats turn out anything like the recipe said or looked in the picture.  I was reading about everyone’s best flour mix, and must use, etc, etc, ad nauseum.

And then I stumbled upon Artisanal Gluten Free Cooking by Kelli and Peter Bronski.  This was by far the best, and easiest in terms of ingredients, that I had come by.  I use a variation of theirs as my main recipe, as I have played around and this is how I like it best.  And I don’t use this in every recipe. But give it a try. Swap in different starches or flours to your preference and see what happens!

GLUTEN FREE FLOUR MIX

 1 1/3 cup Brown Rice Flour

1 cup Sorghum Flour 

2/3 cup Cornstarch

1/3 cup Tapioca Starch

1 tsp. Xanthan Gum

Mix this all together well. It makes a little over 3 cups. I like to use it right away, but any leftovers I store in my fridge in an airtight container. I never keep it for over a month, though I rarely run into this problem because I end up baking so much!! Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Here we go!

  1. KJ says:

    Looking forward to testing this out! Once you create this flour blend, is it used ratio 1:1 when creating a recipe in replacement of regular flour?? Also, I am looking forward to seeing your kid-friendly baked goods (meaning no refined sugars, etc in muffins/cookies/cakes) Do you have any like that?? I am excited to follow your blog!

    Like

  2. The Fancy Duckling says:

    Hi Lady! Glad you are excited!!! I do use this as a 1:1 ratio for most recipes. Some that I post on here, like the chocolate chip cookies I just put up, use a different blend. But that is a personal preference. This is a great starting point and if you want a versatile 1:1, you can use this everywhere!
    As per kid-friendly, no refined sugars, that is my newest quest. I am trying to cut down the sugars in all the recipes or change refined out for substitutes. It is some trial and error now but you will see even in the chocolate chip cookies, I utilized coconut sugar instead of brown sugar.
    Let me know your thoughts or what you are specifically looking for and I will try to make some magic happen! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

