HELLO WORLD!

Welcome to The Fancy Duckling!

So this is it! My first blog post….whew, I am nervous. Do I try to dazzle you with my wit and charm, do I list my qualifications to be speaking with you, or do I just dive in? Since I have always been a “road less traveled” kinda gal….let’s just jump!

I am an actress, writer and self-taught gluten free baker.  Four years ago when I was diagnosed with gluten intolerance, I was bewildered and overwhelmed.  Sooo much information to sift through to just understand what gluten intolerance was, let alone what the hell gluten was.  But after a little freak out and paper bagging, I started hitting every gluten-free bakery in Manhattan.  I wanted to understand what the texture and tastes were. Then I started devouring every gluten free cookbook and online recipe I could find.  And then finally the experimenting began…..

And experimenting it was! So many flours, so many binders, so many combinations!  But I would not be intimidated. I love baking and the creative release that it brings to my life, and I was determined to figure this out.  Soon, I realized that I enjoyed this type of baking so much more than non gluten-free baking.  Why? To me, each recipe is a puzzle.  And since I fancy myself Nancy Drew crossed with Wonder Woman and Joan Jett, this is magical.

I hope that you enjoy each of these recipes and that they inspire you not just to make them, but tweak them and play around to make them you own.

To some baking is structured and bound by rules, but to me baking is simply fun and delicious!

eggsmileresize

One thought on “HELLO WORLD!

  1. Moms says:

    Hey there beautiful…this is a fabulous start. Bravo Miss Duck!!!! I love everything about it…but mostly the eggey smiley face! Classic :O)

    Like

Leave a Reply

